Bob Jenkins

(If you've seen The Music Man, proceed. If not, have a look here first: youtu.be )

+++

CASH for the Lucky Dice, CASH for the Rabbit’s Foot.

CASH for the Leather Coats, CASH for the Trench Coats.

CASH for the Fancy Goods, CASH for the Track Shoes.

CASH for the Tokens and the Totems and the Moonstones.

CASH for the Thermos, Pipes and Painkillers.

CASH for the Shovels and the Lanterns and the Newspapers.

Look, howdoyafight, howdoyafight, howdoyafight, howdoyafight, howdoyafight? HOWDOYACLUEVER? Howdoyafight?

Ya can Move, ya can Draw, ya can Parlay, ya can Fight,

Ya can Cluever, Cluever, Cluever, ya can Fight, ya can Fight,

Ya can Move, Draw, Play, Fight, Cluever, Cluever, Cluever,

Ya can Fight all ya wanna but it’s different than it was!

No it ain't, no it ain't, but you gotta know yer inventory!

~Shh shh shh shh shh shh shh~

Why it's the Axe / Horse combo made the trouble,

Made Survivors wanna blow, wanna get, wanna get, wanna get up and blow

Seven, eight, nine, ten, twelve, fourteen, twenty-two, twenty-three cash on any fight they meet!

Yes sir, yes sir!

Who's gonna draw and play a little batty two-hand break-onna-skull anymore?

Howdoyafight, howdoyafight? HOWDOYACLUEVER?

Gone, gone, gone with the Thermos, Pipes and Painkillers.

Gone with the Derringers, the .41, the .18.

Gone with the Signs and the Knives and the Vests.

Ever meet a fellow by the name of Bob?

...Bob?

............Bob?

..Bob?

........Bob?

.....Bob?

..................Bob?

..........................Bob?

Bob!

NO.

Just a minute, just a minute, just a minute!

Never heard of any salesman Bob.

Well he knows what’s in your inventory!

Knows what’s in my inventory?!

What's his stat line?

Never worries 'bout his line!

Never worries 'bout his line?!

Or a doggone thing!

He's just an all-in, neck-wringing, dumb luck, hard knocks, double-nothing, high-rollin’,

Turns-into-a-great rogue salesman!

That's Mister Bob Jenkins, Bob Jenkins!

What's the fellow's line? What's his line?

He's a fake, and he shouldn't know your inventory!

Look, howdoyafight, howdoyafight, howdoyafight, howdoyafight?

He's a Shrewd-Deals man!

He's a what? He's a what?

He's a Shrewd-Deals man and he sells Catalogues

To the ‘gators in the town with the big Thompsons

And the rat-a-tat guns. Cigarette case, cigarette case!

And the Lupara, the Lupara, and pocket-Colt, too!

With a shiny gold pock-et-watch for yer big red glove-wearin'-

Weeell, I don't know what’s in yer hand but I do know

You can't make a living playin’ other people’s cards, no sir.

“You owe me one”, perhaps, and here and there a Teamwork-

No, the fellow plays hands. YOUR hands! I don't know how he does it!

But he lives like a king! And he dallies and he cluevers and he picks and he shines.

And with a transaction, certainly, boys, what else? The gator pays him!

Yes sir! Yes sir! Yes sir! Yes sir!

With a transaction, certainly boys, what else?

The gator pays him!

Yessssir. Yessssir.

BUT HE’LL KNOW WHAT’S IN MY INVENTORY!

HanoverFist · 758
This is incredible. Absolutely top notch stuff. — supertoasty · 40
thank you! I figured there's likely 4 people at best in the universe who'd recognize it, but hey, in for a penny... — HanoverFist · 758
"Gentlemen, you intrigue me. I believe I'll have to give Antarctica a try." — Voltgloss · 392
So what the heck. Yer welcome! Glad to have ya with us! (Eeeeven tho you'll likely never be heard from again!) Ya really ought ta give Antarcticaaa a tryyyyy! — HanoverFist · 758
Can i use extra actions to play a fast item card? — LDWZ · 1
LDZW: Assuming you mean "out of another player's hand", the consensus seems to be "no". You're granted an additional action, and this action is exceptional from others in that it may only be used to play out of other's hands (something you normally can't do). So a playable item that requires an action to be played is necessary. Anything else you could do during that action- such as fast or reaction effects- is unaffected, and therefore you can only do fast/reaction effects you could normally do during an action. Weird, huh? Bob can buy a Lightning Gun for his friends, but not a Leather Jacket! — HanoverFist · 758
Oh we got trouble, right here in Arkham city! That's trouble with a capital T my friends, that's trouble with a capital T, and that rhymes with C and that stands for C'thulhu! — Fenris49 · 1
Gotta figure out a way to stop the Old Ones raising all these ghouls! — HanoverFist · 758
I wish people would explain things plainly and clear instead of these gimmick answers. This game has already enough going on without the need for added confusion. — syntheticproduct · 1
Once in a while I come back to this, put the song on, and sing along. It's a testament to the effort you put it into it that it works. — Jigurd · 8
I mean this sincerely: thank you. I did actually take an unreasonable amount of time getting the syllables & accents to match, and hearing it landed for anybody just made my day.. — HanoverFist · 758
I have both been introduced to a cool song I've never heard before, and quite possibly the best review of anything I've ever read, ever. It's contextually fitting, well written, and genuinely informative about cards I could play with Bob. — Marymatician · 128
Three years later and this still rules. — MrGoldbee · 1497
Restricted Access

This is a question as opposed to a review: suppose an investigator controlled the custodian and then lost control of it in Act 3a. Then for the purpose of Act 2b (and the scenario resolution), is it true that the investigator "has performed" the "An investigator controls the Custodian?"

To be clear, I think this is different from Act 2a, where it states "if three of the following are true..." and when you lose control, it is no longer true that you "have control". However, given the way the game resolves the number of tasks in the resolution of the scenario, it seems it expects the number of tasks you have "performed by the time the scenario ends" (as opposed to, say "to be true by the time the scenario ends") to be definitely between 3 and 6, and you can get into a state where you only have 2 tasks (by doing the Custodian and 2 other tasks, then losing the custodian), which is not given a consequence in the resolution.

krzhang · 7
You'd have to control the custodian at time of resolution; the text isn't in quotes so it's not asking you to remember something, it's just looking at the game state. It should say, roughly, "the more of the following that are true, the better..." but it seems to have slipped under QA's nets. — SGPrometheus · 855
I agree with SGPrometheus; you need control when all payers reach the “resign” condition. — LivefromBenefitSt · 1091
That seems to be right to me as well but like the OP said , it does create a new hole in the rules in the resolution. If you advance from Act 2a to 2b with control of the Custodian and two other things , lose control of the Custodian in Act 3 and don't complete any other tasks by the time you resign then you end up with 2 tasks completed in the resolution and no instructions for what to do. And yeah, I also kinda think that suggests the intent was for it not to be possible to "un-do" the tasks....Might be worth asking over — bee123 · 31
I'd just go for the 3 tasks completed bullet; it doesn't get much worse than that anyway :p — SGPrometheus · 855
hehe I do agree with that! I still hold that if we are going to take cards to their word though, we would incentivize minmax players to go for the 2 tasks instead of the 3 to dodge a ‘ — krzhang · 7
(argh misclick) “better” outcome, so an errata would be nice. — krzhang · 7
Summoned Hound

Extremely nice Ally for our girl Agnes Baker

She once had an addiction to Painkillers, though hard to manage, she figured out that a Summoned ally would make her problems disappear.

Same 3 health, although more damage and an investigating ability.

The way to put the dog in play is somewhat complex to manage: You either discard it reaching over your hand limit or discard it via Scroll of Prophecies. Then put it into play using A Chance Encounter.

Dealing with weakness was too hard on Expert difficulty.

Blood Pact will help deal with tougher enemies.

ambiryan13 · 179
If you aren’t playing solo, you surely have an ally making Intellect or Combat tests that you can commit it to... — Death by Chocolate · 1490
Crystallizer of Dreams

EDITED: Since this card's text was errata'd to match Summoned Hound, there now exists two ways to "cheat" this into play without adding its Guardian weakness: Dr. Elli Horowitz and Archaic Glyphs (Markings of Isis). Rex Murphy, Ursula Downs, Lola Hayes, and the upcoming Monterey Jack all have access to these combos (and Trish Scarborough can use the Dr. Elli version).

Voltgloss · 392
Rogue Mandy cannot take Rogue assets, just events and skills. — StyxTBeuford · 13052
Absolutely right, my error. The "edit review" button doesn't seem to be working or I'd fix this. Thanks! (Also technically anyone with access to the Glyphs could use Versatile for one copy of the Crystallizer as well.) — Voltgloss · 392
Can Lola Hayes play Rogue assets with Archaic Glyphs (markings of Isis) if her current role is Seeker? I can see it working if there is a lightning window between taking the test and then switching your role. — techoatmeal · 15
Empower Self

These Myraid Cards are specifically for one person and one person only.

Sefina Rousseau.

Spectral Razor and Read the Signs are the Events to duplicate and she has no innate ability to boost her Intelligence and Strength. And here is where these cards come into play.

Empower Self is best used with Mists of R'lyeh or later in the campaign with Ornate Bow to get up to 8 Agility. Yes, she does want Suggestion as well, so there would be three cards for evading in one arcane slot and the other three for basically everything else in another.

Also one other thing. She is so RICH she could solely afford to use those spells.

No paranoia.

ambiryan13 · 179
Or Patrice — MrGoldbee · 1497
They are very useful in Diana, n a build that doesn’t care about Willpower. — LivefromBenefitSt · 1091
The EotE spells are better for Diana. Here you have to find Empower first (1 per deck), then Shrivelling before low-WP Diana is ready to go. With Brand she can use Combat immediately at 1/3 the cost of this combo. — MindControlMouse · 45
If you're using the brand, you probably would welcome more fist icons. Diana can also take Well Prepared. — Lailah · 1