Pushed into the Beyond

Just a quick note for beginners: cards in your hand or discard pile are also controlled by you and can be chosen to satisfy the card condition. It doesn't have to be a card in play. (see page 16 in the reference guide)

Lindan · 1
Are they "assets" while in your hand, though, or just "asset cards"? — OrionJA · 1
This is incorrect. Cards will only interact with cards in play unless otherwise specified, this is why you can't discard from hand on a failed Crypt Chill. Cards will specify 'from hand' if it's an option. — SSW · 217
Yup, from "Ability" in the Rules Reference: Card abilities only interact with other cards that are in play, unless the ability specifically references an interaction with cards in an out-of-play area. ... The various types of card abilities are: ... revelation abilities ... — Thatwasademo · 58
So, even though you control the cards in your hand or discard pile, because those are out-of-play zones you can't have Pushed into the Beyond target them. — Thatwasademo · 58
Does'nt make it that card completely overpowered since you can't deal with it in any way ? I was quite happy to think it could b a card from hand or else because it would not be that much of a "you lose" card. — NML · 1
Adaptable

Almost everybody can take Down the Rabbit Hole now using Versatile and In the Thick of It. Though you don't purchase the cards you swap you should be able to swap Down the Rabbit Hole on and off your deck.

During upgrading you can first upgrade your cards with reduced xp cost, then swap Down the Rabbit Hole for another card an then buy new cards.

During next upgrading do the other way round, first buy then swap and upgrade if necessary.

You could even use Adaptable twice to do it on the same turn.

Or am I wrong and abuse this too much?

This had been declined in the FAQ: If I purchase a permanent card for my deck, like Charon’s Obol ( 308), can I later remove it from my deck? Not unless an effect explicitly allows you to do so. Generally cards are only removed from your deck if you purchase a new card and must swap out an existing card in order to reach your investigator’s deck size. However, since Permanent cards do not count towards your deck size, they cannot be swapped out in this way. There is no rule which allows you to remove cards from your deck at will. — Susumu · 382
However, with Versatile it still might work. Let's say, you have access to neither Mystic nor Seeker cards level 0. Then you might be able to swap out DtRH for "Shrewd Analysis", because that becomes your one leagal "other class" card, and you have to remove DtRH for it. Any opinions on that? — Susumu · 382
Instead of trying to be clever, why not just give your investigators +10 XP at the start of the campaign? It's your game and if you want to break the rules, go for it. And if you want to play by the book, remember that the design intent of cards that reduce XP costs or give you XP (ie. In the Thick of It and Arcane Research) has always been to slap them with a hefty downside. Besides, Susumu is right. 'Permanent' is almost as absolute as 'cannot'. — thinsilver · 14
The more I think about this, the more I'm convinced that it works (but is clearly not an intended use). Adaptable gets around the "no way to remove permanents" restriction (which isn't really a restriction; it's just an observation about how the rules don't intrinsically provide a way to remove permanents) because it is an "effect that explicitly allows you to do so", as per the FAQ. Also, since 'swap' is distinct from 'purchase', I see no reason why versatile shouldn't be able to add an EotE permanent to your deck inbetween any two scenarios. — Tynian · 1
Err, sorry, when I said "no reason why versatile", I meant "no reason why adaptable". I always mix them up... — Tynian · 1
The rules state "A card with the permanent keyword still counts as being part of your deck." Adaptable lets you "swap up to two level 0 cards out of your deck." The rule mentioned by Susumu is generally for normal upgrades. The card rules always overwrite the rule book. Therefore Adaptable should let you swap permanents out for other cards. — SpicyNugy · 2
I am not sure how this works with Down the Rabbit Hole though. Can you chose the order these cards resolve? Can you use Rabbit Hole to upgrade a spell, switch Rabbit Hole out with Adaptable, upgrade another card at no penalty, switch Rabbit Hole back into the deck, and upgrade a second spell discounted? This obviously feels way too silly to be allowed. It is a fun thought experiment and the rules should be clarified. — SpicyNugy · 2
This is now explicitly covered in a "Rulebook Errata" FAQ entry (v. 2.0, p. 2, emphasis mine): Add the following bullet point: “Once added to your deck, permanent cards cannot be removed from your deck **or swapped out of your deck** unless explicitly stated otherwise.”" — JoshWVS · 9
Schoffner's Catalogue

I think one aspect wasn't mentioned so far by the other reviews: the Schoffner's Catalogue can pay for a second copy of itself, because it is also an item.

I think this has a fun combo potential with for example two Ice Axe(3) and Scavenging/Scavenging(2) in Minh Thi Phan. If you have two catalogues in play/discard, you will never run out of money for recursion of the axes or the second copy of the catalogue, provided once in a while you don't use your scavenge on an axe but to return an empty catalogue. Of course you have to find all this, but with the search-tech of and Minhs tendency for a lot of card draw its fairly doable.

Also the Backpack or better the Backpack(2) can dig deep to find all pieces exept scavenging. As a nice side effect it can also find other nice stuff like her favorite dairy or totem, which of course can also be paid by the trusty catalogue. As mentioned by others, you can even go for a dark horse-item-skill-build with this combo.

Yea, I agree. I bought a second copy of the catalogue from the first several times in my run as Yorick, and most times from the graveyard. The money was often gone again by my next turn. — Susumu · 382
Wine Cellar

Pretty hard to get to a cellar that isn't connected to the building in any way!

This location supposedly has a misprint. There is no way to get to it.

It looks like it was intended to connect to Victorian Halls so we played it as such.

KakuRainbow · 97
Feels like this card is missing "Victorian Halls is connect to Wine Cellar" so we played it as such too. Kind of amusing to think that Luke can still get there right? — Tzyx · 1
Earthly Serenity

This card really steps up in value when you play it with Dexter Drake. For 1 resource and 1 action, you can heal up to 4 damage/horror. Pretty powerful stuff. And then next turn you can throw it out for a Shrivelling and load up on horror all over again :D

If you have Showmanship down, you'll get a +2 to the test and be likely to spend all your charges in one go, even without any other Willpower boost.

KakuRainbow · 97