I think this card is very penalizing, as it imposes 3 negative effects that aren't all obvious:
- The first is obvious, not being able to commit cards is often a problem
- 4 ressources to play is a lot, for example leaving you unable to play most assets on turn 1
- When played it occupies the tarot slot, which may discard an existing tarot card
However another tarot card can be played to discard the tower, once it's in play. The rules about weaknesses only prohibit players from discarding weaknesses from their hand, not from play (unless the card itself says so).